Cheating Yourself or Cheat Meal?

Every now and then I do it: fill my stomach with food out of pleasure and not out of necessity. 

Can anyone attest to this statement? Is there anyone out there that struggles with “splurging” while on a diet? If you are reading this… are you guilty of partaking in a “cheat meal?”

When watching what you consume as well exercising daily to reach a certain fitness goal, it is important to remember to eat healthy, well-balanced meals. For me, I always feel like I have to eat healthy for each meal in order to reach my personal fitness goal. If I slip up on one meal…I always tell myself that everything I ate for the day was pointless.

In these moments, I come to the realization that I have had a “cheat meal.”

A few slices of greasy pizza when you have been sticking to your healthy eating regime for the past couple of months, will not kill you. You are allowed to eat unhealthy meals every once in a while.

(Key words: “every once in a while.”)

However, if  you have too many of these “cheat meals”… well let’s just say that the pounds will begin to make their appearance. Partaking in these so-called “cheat meals” is creating a bad habit that will not lead you any closer to your fitness goal.

According to a study from Fitness Magazine, it is “easier to gain weight than it is to lose—and it’s certainly a lot more fun to gain than to lose it,” says Alexandra Caspero, R.D., owner of weight-management and sports-nutrition service DelishKnowledge.com.

To my college ladies… I know it ‘s hard to be told to just not eat unhealthy in college. That’s like a husband telling his wife “Okay, here is my credit card. Get what you need and do not but anything extra.”

LIKE WHAT…sorry honey, not going to happen. It is just a very unrealistic item to ask in my opinion of a woman.

I am here to tell you that it is okay. It is okay to splurge on a meal. It is okay if you want to eat more than you did the day before. It is okay if you want to have a “cheat meal”… you are not cheating yourself.

I recommend not to look at “cheat meals” like you are cheating. I like to think that there is a lot of power in actually enjoying your meal than feeling guilty.

Check out Eat This Not That! This website gives its readers a list of strategies on cheat meal for weight loss!

 

 

#fitnessRedefined

 

Leave a Reply

