Three Part Study: Jogging

Over the next few days, I am going to shed some light on the difference between jogging, running, and sprinting. Bear with me…

Jogging

It is as easy as 1,2,3… jogging falls between the “walking” stage and the “running” stage. Basically, jogging means moving faster than walking however you’re not moving fast enough to be classified as running.

You won’t get to your destination any faster than let’s say if you were running, but you will  maintain your tempo longer and easier. I would not consider myself an expert on jogging…or running…or sprinting for that matter. This form of exercise I really have to work at it and give it all that I got.

I’m your typical college girl, whose eyes are bigger than her stomach. I love food and I love to eat said food. With that being said, all of those foods go straight to my hips and my thighs. Most of my body mass is composed of muscle…so I try to steer clear of those exercises  which will put on more muscle.

You can’t just jump into running! You have to build up your endurance!

The only way to build up your endurance is to start by jogging. 

According to an article posted on T Nation, jogging is defined as a “form of trotting or running at a slow or leisurely pace.”

It’s hard to tell whether you are running or jogging. For me, I know I am jogging when my breathing is at bay. I’m not breathing too hard in other words. When I feel myself begin to breathe heavy, I know that I am going too fast.

Jogging is designed to increase your physical fitness level, while not supplying or putting on any extra stress on your body. Some people refer to jogging as a form of “aerobic endurance training.”

Contrary to popular belief, jogging is an effective exercise that can help you lose weight. According to an article on Live Strong, “jogging burns more calories than almost all other forms of cardio exercise.”

“But I’m barely breaking a sweat!”

Well honey, that may be a good thing… you do not necessarily have to sweat to be getting in some sort of exercise.

When it comes to jogging, don’t push yourself too hard. You have to master jogging before you can move on to the next step.

#fitnessRedefined

Leave a Reply

