Never Skip Out on Breakfast

(you’ll have to excuse my appearance in the photo above… we’re not all supermodels when we wake up in the morning)

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

You’ve all heard the saying at least once before. I cannot even begin to count the number of times that I have heard this short, nine-worded saying.

Eating a proper, well-balanced breakfast meal is a lot to ask of a girl who is in college. Okay… maybe it is not a lot to ask, but it is tedious. I set my alarm to wake me up 45 minutes prior to when my first class begins. During those 45 minutes, I have to take a quick shower, brush my teeth, make my hair look somewhat presentable to the general public, and pick out clothes to wear for the day (which 9/10 times is a t-shirt and leggings/Nike shorts).

Notice that I did not list ‘sit down to have a decent breakfast’… it’s because I do not have time for that! 

The way I look at it is if I make myself sit down and eat breakfast, I’m going to have to wake up a whole hour before my class begins.

15 minutes of sleep is precious to a college student because our days are filled with endless opportunities to get ahead in life.

Don’t get me wrong, I do grab a granola bar to go and I count that as my breakfast. However, that is not exactly the best thing to put in my body to kick-start my day.

Eating a nutritious, well-balanced breakfast will fuel and supply you with the energy needed to start your day. It’s almost as if it is setting the tone for the day. According to Fruit & Veggies, breakfast “promotes weight maintenance and weight loss by maintaining blood glucose levels and your metabolism.”

No one is saying that you have a five-star breakfast meal… that’s not being realistic. Nutrition can only have a positive impact on exercise and training for your body goals. Based on my own experience, I’m starting to realize that having the proper nutrition is crucial to reach my goals.

If you want to lose or gain weight, you should consider eating a proper breakfast.

Here’s a tip: try planning and prepping your meals on Sundays for the whole week. Allow yourself to have a cheat day…or two…or three.

Try a healthy brand of cereal, such as Special K.

Grab a couple of containers of greek yogurt at the grocery store… greek yogurt only have 100 calories.

Boil some eggs and sprinkle a little salt & pepper over them.

DRINK MILK.

All of these suggestions listed above are easily affordable for the college girl!

 

#fitnessRedefined

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

